

CUSA Council acknowledges and respects the Algonquin people, on whose traditional territory the Carleton University Students' Association is located.

AGENDA OF THE ANNUAL MEMBERS' MEETING (II) OF THE CARLETON UNIVERSITY STUDENTS' ASSOCIATION

9 March 2025, 12:00 PM EST, 608 Pigiarvik

Prepared by:

Governance and Council Operations Committee



ATTENDANCE RECORD (OUTGOING/RETURNING COUNCIL):

Position	Councillor	Signature
President	Sarah El Fitori	Present (online)
Vice President Finance	Samuel Easby	Present
Vice President Internal	Aiden Rohacek	Present
Vice President Student Issues	Artur Estrela da Silva	Present
Vice President Student Life	Akua Antwi-Adjei	Present
Speaker	Marc Denault	Present
Deputy Speaker	Joanna Olagoke-Daniel	Absent
Public Affairs (7)	Yafet Bizuneh	Proxy through C. McIsaac
	Clara de Oliveira Borba	Present
	Emma Girvan	Absent
	Mujtaba Hussain	Proxy through. C. de Oliveira Borba
	Aidan Kallioinen	Present
	Miles Rowe	Present
	Vacant	N/A
FASS (8)	Maira Bilgrami	Absent
	Cass McIsaac	Present
	Zam Onwusah	Present
	Vacant	N/A



	Vacant	N/A
Business (3)	Gaurikh Appanah	Absent
	Vacant	N/A
	Joe Sanchez	Absent
Science (6)	Ali Khan	Absent
	Joanna Olagoke-Daniel	Absent
	Pelumi Olagunju	Proxy through C. McIsaac
	Liam Orlowski	Proxy through D. Sayed Ahmed
	Dilkusha Sakiba	Absent
	Maheeshan Sivanesan	Present
Engineering and Design (7)	Yahya Al-Khateeb	Absent
	Nathan Bruni	Proxy through C. McIsaac
	Vacant	N/A
	Marc Denault	Present (chair)
	Jaden Desveaux	Present
	Dana Sayed Ahmed	Present
	Aryan Singh	Present
Special Student (1)	Adam Burke	Absent
BOG	Logan Breen	Absent
	Yafet Bizuneh	Absent
GSA	Jayesh Kundu	Absent
RRRA	Mohammed Akif	Absent
CASG	Allan Buri	Present



ATTENDANCE RECORD (INCOMING COUNCIL):

Position	Councillor	Signature
President	Vacant	N/A
Vice President Finance	Vacant	N/A
Vice President Internal	Vacant	N/A
Vice President Student Issues	Vacant	N/A
Vice President Student Life	Vacant	N/A
Speaker	Vacant	N/A
Deputy Speaker	Vacant	N/A
Public Affairs (7)	Yasmine Abdulla	Present
	Nifemi Boamah	Proxy through C. McIsaac
	Avery Cole	Absent
	Jaac Doduck	Present
	Elissa Gee	Present
	Maxwell Heroux	Present
	Chloe Tran	Present
FASS (8)	Mohamad Adel El Fitori	Present
	Withchelie Louima	Present
	Gerardo Maldonado- Jimenez	Absent
	Cass McIsaac	Present

^{*}Nonvoting members in *Italics*.



	Brooke Muzzatti	Proxy through M. Rowe
	Maya Shaban	Present
	Cherry Zhang	Present
	Vacant	N/A
Business (3)	Prestyn Colliton	Absent
	Nathan Vinokur	Absent
	Vacant	N/A
Science (6)	Ramla Ahmed	Absent
	Mariem El Domiaty	Present
	Reyna Itani	Present
	Godchosen Ojediran	Absent
	Liam Orlowski	Proxy through D. Sayed Ahmed
	Maheeshan Sivanesan	Present
Engineering and Design (7)	Nathan Bruni	Proxy through C. McIsaac
	Jeronimo Cumming	Present
	Amy Kopytskiy	Present
	Viveca Matida-Torrico	Proxy through D. Sayed Ahmed
	Boothaina Sheltami	Present
	Aryan Singh	Presnet
	Amogh Thungathurti	Present
Special Student (1)	Vacant	N/A
BOG	Logan Breen	Absent
	Yafet Bizuneh	Absent



GSA	Jayesh Kundu	Absent
RRRA	Mohammed Akif	Absent
CASG	Allan Buri	Present

^{*}Nonvoting members in *Italics*.

AGENDA:

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval of the Agenda
- 3. Approval of Past Minutes
- 4. Vice Presidential Candidate Q&A
- 5. Regular Business
 - a. Unfinished Business
 - b. New Business
 - i. Motion to Elect the Vice President Internal/Secretary, the Vice President Student Issues, and the Vice President Student Life of the Association
- 6. Adjournment



1. Call to Order

Meeting called to order at 12:57 p.m.

Before we address the regular business of this meeting, I'd like to acknowledge that we are today gathered on the traditional territory of the Algonquin Anishinaabe, lands never ceded or surrendered in peace to the Crown of Canada. Indigenous peoples living under the modern colonial state of Canada have suffered disproportionate injustice and marginalization. A mere land acknowledgement is not enough to make reconciliation and reparation to the Indigenous peoples of Turtle Island. We must stand in solidarity against colonialism and remember our responsibility to the land and the peoples who have kept it for generations—which means affirming their call for the free and unencumbered return to their ancestral land. It is also fitting, for this body of lawmakers, to remember the spirit and wisdom of Indigenous governance models—from the collaborative bicameralism of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy to the consensus-based government of the Inuit—to deliver to students a better student union.

2. Approval of the Agenda (C-90)

Be it resolved, that the agenda be approved as presented to Council, notwithstanding s. 18 of the *Council Rules of Order*.

Moved: C. McIsaac Seconded: J. Desveaux



CARRIED unanimously

3. Approval of Past Minutes (C-91)

a. Annual Members' Meeting (I) (March 3rd, 2025)

Be it resolved, that the minutes of the March 3rd meeting of Council be approved.

Moved: A. Kallioinen **Seconded:** C. McIsaac

CARRIED unanimously

4. Vice Presidential Candidate Q&A

- a. Vice President Internal/Secretary Recessed at 2:19 p.m. Returned at 2:43 p.m.
- b. Vice President Student Issues

Recessed for 10 minutes.

c. Vice President Student Life

Moved in Camera for 10 minutes: 5:31-5:41

4. Announcements and Correspondence

- a. Declarations of Conflicts of Interest
- b. Items for Information
- c. Notice of Motion

5. Regular Business

- a. Unfinished Business:
- b. New Business:



Motion to Destroy the Ballots of the VP Election (C-92)

Be it resolved, that the ballots from the VP Election be destroyed. **Moved:** C. de Oliveira Borba **Seconded:** A. Thungathurti

CARRIED unanimously

Motion to Elect the Vice President Internal/Secretary, the Vice President Student Issues, and the Vice President Student Life of the Association (C-93a to c)

Whereas, per the *Vice Presidential Elections Policy*, balloting for the Vice Presidential positions shall take place during the Annual Members' Meeting;

And Whereas, the nominations, candidacies, and balloting have been completed pursuant to the *Vice Presidential Elections Policy* and the *Electoral Code*;

Be it resolved, that Council elect the following individuals as Vice Presidents of the Association, by way of filling blanks through secret ballot:

- a. for Vice President Internal/Secretary, Jahnelle Woldegiorgis;
- b. for Vice President Student Issues, Aidan Kallioinen,
- c. for Vice President Student Life, Cass McIsaac;

Moved: C. McIsaac **Seconded:** M. El Fitori

CARRIED unanimously

6. Adjournment

a. Motion to Adjourn to a Specific Time (C-93)



Be it resolved, that Council adjourns until 6:00 p.m. the 31st of March, and that this shall constitute for the purposes of the *Act* and our *Bylaws*, prior notice.

Moved: C. de Oliveira Borba **Seconded:** M. Sivanesan

Adjourned at 6:34 p.m.