

2024 General Election - Official List of Candidates

The individuals listed below are verified by the Chief Returning Officer to have met the requirements for candidacy, as set out in the Electoral Code, and are declared as official candidates for election to the respective position in the 2024 CUSA General Election.

Candidates were declared as official upon verification by the CRO that they had:

- 1. Submitted a completed nomination form during the nomination period;
- 2. Submitted at least the minimum number of nominators required for the position and had those nominators successfully verified as eligible voters;
- 3. Verified as being eligible to hold leadership positions within Carleton University;
- 4. Attended the all-candidates meeting, or approved alternative, to receive important election information and had the opportunity to review all relevant election policies and ask questions of the CRO; and
- 5. Signed the Candidate Code of Conduct.

Official Presidential Candidates

- 1 Position
- 5 Candidates

Ariunbold, Burte	
Azizli, Kamran	
El Fitori, Sarah	
Joe-Ezigbo, Sean	
Maroney, Finlay	



Official Councillor Candidates (by Constituency)

Arts and Social Sciences 8 Seats 3 Candidates	Engineering and Design 7 Seats 10 Candidates	Public Affairs 7 Seats 12 Candidates
Bilgrami, Maira	Al-Khateeb, Yahya	Antwi-Adjei, Akua
McIsaac, Cass	Bruni, Nathan	Bizuneh, Yafet
Onwusah, Zam	Buckarev, Ethan	de Oliveira Borba, Clara
	Denault, Marc	Girvan, Emma
	Desveaux, Jaden	Hussain, Mujtaba
	Kopytskiy, Anton	Huynh, Michael
	Preetharani, Aathira	Kallioinen, Aidan
	Sayed Ahmed, Dana	Mashkoori, Madina
	Singh, Aryan	Maverevedze, LeBron
	Stefanidis, Alex	Mcdonald, Ayotunde
		Rowe, Miles
		Villeneuve-Elson, Kennedy

Science 6 Seats 6 Candidates	Sprott School of Business 3 Seats 4 Candidates	Special Student 1 Seat 1 Candidate
Khan, Ali	Appanah, Gaurikh	Burke, Adam
Olagoke-Daniel, Joanna	Galloway-Booth, Ethan	
Olagunju, Pelumi	Ritchie, Kieran	
Orlowski, Liam	Sanchez, Joe	
Sakiba, Dilkusha		
Sivanesan, Maheeshan		



Prospective Candidate not Verified

The following individual submitted a nomination form as prospective candidate in the 2024 CUSA General Election, but was not able to be verified by the Chief Returning Officer to have met the requirements for candidacy, as set out in the Electoral Code, and therefore have had their candidacy declared cancelled.

Specifically, the prospective candidate had their candidacy declared cancelled because they were unable to meet the requirements of S. 30 of the Electoral Code, with just 5 of their 19 submitted nominators found to be eligible voters in the constituency they were intending to be a candidate in, as verified the Carleton University Registrar's Office.

Official Referendum Campaign Committees

Campaign committees for the following referendum answers have been declared by the Chief Returning Officer as official campaign committees, constituted under S.13 of the Referenda and Recall Policy, for their respective answer:

YES - Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Levy

Co-Chairs: Mohamed Faris & Artur Estrela Da Silva

YES - Millennium Promise Levy

Chair: Aidan Kallioinen

YES - First Year Transition Levy

Co-Chairs: Eman Elnaidany and Mohamed Faris

YES - Clubs and Societies Levy

Co-Chairs: Logan Breen and Aiden Rohacek

The CRO did not receive interest from individuals wishing to form official campaign committees for any of the other six referendum answers.

January 30, 2024

Connor Plante, Chief Returning Officer, Carleton University Students' Association