

# 2023 General Election - Official List of Candidates

The individuals listed below are verified by the Chief Returning Officer to have met the requirements for candidacy, as set out in the Electoral Code, and are declared as official candidates for election to the respective position in the 2023 CUSA General Election.

Candidates were declared as official upon verification by the CRO that they had:

- 1. Submitted a completed nomination form prior to the close of the nomination period;
- 2. Submitted at least the minimum number of nominations required for the position and had those nominations successfully verified as eligible voters;
- 3. Attended the all-candidates meeting, or approved alternative, to receive important election information and had the opportunity to review all relevant election policies and ask questions of the CRO; and
- 4. Signed the Candidate Code of Conduct.

#### Official Presidential Candidates (1 position)

Dean, Raiden	
Faris, Mohamed	

### Official Councillor Candidates (by Constituency)

Arts and Social Science (8 seats)	Engineering and Design (7 seats)	Public Affairs (7 seats)
Amini, Tima Sakka	Bakshi, Addy	Awad, Rachel
Faisal, Moobinah	El Khoury, Marc Anthony	Benchoubane, Tayssir
Laborde, Nicky	Janmohamed, Sarah	Bilgrami, Nabiha

Mhlanga, Nkosi	Siddiq, Soroush	Borba, Clara
Murray, Grace	Verma, Puru Parth	Cavero, Keana Solimar
Udo, Eddy		Dobrin, Connor Matthew
		Guimaraes, Ana Miranda
		Hagigi, Nir
		Huynh, Michael
		Nuhn, Charles
		Rohacek, Aiden
		Saadi, Rana
		Saleh, Rana
		Abu Sheikh, Aya
		Sra, Mannat

Science (6 seats)	Sprott School of Business (3 seats)	Special Student (1 seat)
D'Jan, Jayln	El Nil, Youssef	None
Ekeng, Edi	Kulkarni, Diya	
Khan, Sameer	Munira, Zeba	
Matrawy, Aly		
Parihan, Parihan		
Sherzad, Madena		
Sinethyah, Kaniz Fathma		
Sivanesan, Maheeshan		

## **Prospective Candidates not Verified**

The following individuals submitted nomination forms as prospective candidates in the 2023 CUSA General Election, but were not able to be verified by the Chief Returning Officer to have met the requirements for candidacy, as set out in the Electoral Code, and therefore have had their candidacy declared canceled.

Prospective candidates were declared canceled by the CRO after they:

- 1. Did not attend the all-candidates meeting, either in-person or remotely, nor completed the approved alternative;
- Provided no communications to the CRO and failed to respond to any email
  correspondence from the CRO, which included five emails over a span of one
  week which notified them of the requirements they needed to fulfill in order to be
  confirmed as a candidate; and
- 3. Did not sign the Candidate Code of Conduct.

Bencosme, Pedro	Sprott School of Business
Kaleem, Hassan	Science

Additionally, two prospective Councillor candidates from the Faculty of Public Affairs voluntarily elected to withdraw their nomination prior to the beginning of the campaign period.

#### Official Referendum Campaign Committees

Campaign committees for the following referendum answers have been declared by the Chief Returning Officer as official campaign committees, constituted under the Referenda and Recall Policy, for their respective answer.

YES - Clubs and Societies Fund Referendum

Chair: Ali Al-Saady

YES - Unified Support Centre Emergency Essentials Assistance Program Referendum Co-chairs: Liam Callaghan and Neeni Saha

The CRO did not receive interest from individuals wishing to form official campaign committees for any of the other four referendum answers.

February 1, 2023

Connor Plante, Chief Returning Officer, Carleton University Students' Association