

The Students' Council acknowledges and respects the Algonquin people, on whose traditional territory the Carleton University Students' Association is located.

# **MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (III) OF THE CARLETON UNIVERSITY STUDENTS' ASSOCIATION**

13 April 2023, 6:30 PM EST, Canal Building 3101

**Prepared by:** 

Davin Caratao, Vice President Internal

# **CUSC** carleton university students' association

# ATTENDANCE RECORD:

Position	Councillor	Signature
President	Anastasia Stoikos-Lettieri	Present
Vice President Finance	Steve Mansour	Present
Vice President Internal	Davin Caratao	Present
Vice President Student Issues	Mohamed Faris Riazudden	Present
Vice President Community Engagement	Hallee Kejick	Present
Vice President Student Life	Anshika Srivastava	Present
Speaker	Erin Okrainec	Absent
Deputy Speaker	Nkosi Mhlanga	Present
Public Affairs (7)	Jordan Vecchio	Present
	Francesca Lepore	Present
	Gauri Bhardwaj	Absent
	Liam Clarke	Absent
	Raj Gill	Absent
	Erin Okrainec	Absent
	Keana Cavero	Present
	Michael Huynh	Present
	Aiden Rohacuek	Present
FASS (8)	Katelyn Madigan	Present
	Tyson Scott	Absent
	Melate Mulugeta	Absent
	Sean Cruz	Present



Maya James	Present
Nkosi Mhlanga	
Grace Murray	Absent
Ededet Udo	Present
Vacant	
Diya Kulkarni	Absent
Suvi Chhabra	Present
Sam Easby	Present
Alexis St. Pierre	Absent
Saad Khan	Absent
Raven Miller	Absent
Madena Sherzad proxy Parihan	Present
Naheed Howlader	Absent
Parihan Parihan	Present
Kassidy Hammond	Present
Muhammad Maahir	Absent
Charlie MacDonald	Absent
Akeel Samji	Absent
Stephnie Ughara	Absent
Alex Barnett-Sheldon proxy Kassidy	Present
Kevin Leo	Absent
Ediabasi Ekeng	Present
Vacant	
	Absent
	Nkosi MhlangaGrace MurrayEdedet UdoVacantDiya KulkarniSuvi ChhabraSam EasbyAlexis St. PierreSaad KhanRaven MillerMadena Sherzad proxy ParihanParihan ParihanKassidy HammondMuhammad MaahirCharlie MacDonaldAkeel SamjiStephnie UgharaAlex Barnett-Sheldon proxy KassidyKevin LeoEdiabasi Ekeng

# **CUSQ** carleton university students' association

	Jonathan Ojangole	Absent
GSA	Milan Sanghani	
RRRA	Gialina Jiang	Absent
CASG	Dakota Livingston	Present

\*Nonvoting members in *Italics*.

#### SHORT-FORM AGENDA:

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval of the Agenda (C-119)
- 3. Approval of Past Minutes (C-120)
  - a. AGM, Part II
- 4. Vice Presidential Question-and-Answer
  - a. Vice President Finance/Secretary-Treasurer
- 5. Regular Business
  - a. Unfinished Business
    - Vice Presidential Elections (C-115f) i.
- 6. Adjournment (C-121)

# LONG-FORM AGENDA:

Meeting commenced at 6:50pm. Nkhosi takes the Chair.

# 1. Call to Order

Before we address the regular business of this meeting, I'd like to acknowledge that we are today gathered on the traditional territory of the Algonquin Anishinaabe, lands never ceded or surrendered in peace to the Crown of Canada. Indigenous peoples living under the modern colonial state of Canada have suffered disproportionate injustice and marginalization. A mere land acknowledgement is not enough to make reconciliation and reparation to the Indigenous peoples of Turtle Island. We must stand in solidarity against colonialism and remember our responsibility to the land and the peoples who have kept it for generations—which means affirming



their call for the free and unencumbered return to their ancestral land. It is also fitting, for this body of lawmakers, to remember the spirit and wisdom of Indigenous governance models—from the collaborative bicameralism of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy to the consensus-based government of the Inuit—to deliver to students a better student union.

# 2. Approval of the Agenda (C-113)

*Be it resolved,* that the agenda be approved as presented to Council, notwithstanding s. 18 of the *Council Rules of Order*.Moved: N. Mhlanga Seconded: R. Gill

**CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT** 

# 3. Approval of Past Minutes (C-114)

a. AGM, Part II

**Be it resolved,** that the minutes from the <u>Annual General Meeting of</u> <u>the Association, Part II</u> be approved.

Moved: N. Mhlanga Seconded: R. Gill

#### CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT

# 4. Question/Answers from Vice President Finance Candidates

- a. Vice President Finance Nominee Question and Answer Period
  - i. To be determined
- 5. Regular Business

#### Motion to move into in-camera session

Moved: K. Hammond Seconded: M. James



#### **CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT**

# Motion to move out of the in-camera session

K. Hammond Moved:

Seconded: M. James

#### **CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT**

#### Motion to Elect Vice Presidents of the Association (C-115f)

Whereas, per the Vice President Finance Hiring Policy H-77, the confirmation or rejection of the nominee for Vice President Finance, as recommended by the nominating committee, shall take place during the Annual General Meeting; therefore

Be it resolved, that Council elect Sean Joe-Ezigbo as Vice President Finance/Secretary-Treasurer.

Moved: K. Hammond Seconded: S. Easby

**Motion CARRIED** 

# Motion to destroy the ballots of the Vice President Finance **Election**

S. Easby Seconded: K. Hammond Moved:



#### CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT

#### 6. Adjournment

Motion to Adjourn (C-120)

*Be it resolved*, the Council adjourns for this legislative session.

Moved: N. Mhlanga Seconded: E. Okrainec

#### CARRIED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT

Meeting Adjourned at 8:15pm.