

The Students' Council acknowledges and respects the Algonquin people, on whose traditional territory the Carleton University Students' Association is located.

AGENDA OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (II) OF THE CARLETON UNIVERSITY STUDENTS' ASSOCIATION

12 March 2023, 12:00 PM EST, Richcraft Hall (River Building) 2200

Prepared by:

Davin Caratao, Vice President Internal



ATTENDANCE RECORD:

Position	Councillor	Signature
President	Anastasia Stoikos-Lettieri	Present
Vice President Finance	Steve Mansour	Present
Vice President Internal	Davin Caratao	Absent
Vice President Student Issues	Mohamed Faris Riazudden	Present
Vice President Community Engagement	Hallee Kejick	Present
Vice President Student Life	Anshika Srivastava	Present
Speaker	Erin Okrainec	Present
Deputy Speaker	Nkosi Mhlanga	Present
Public Affairs (7)	Jordan Vecchio	Present
	Francesca Lepore	Present
	Gauri Bhardwaj	Present
	Liam Clarke	Absent
	Raj Gill	Absent
	Erin Okrainec	Present
	Keana Cavero	Present
FASS (8)	Katelyn Madigan	Present
	Tyson Scott	Absent
	Melate Mulugeta	Absent
	Sean Cruz	Present
	Maya James	Present
	Nkosi Mhlanga	Present



	Grace Murray	Absent
	Vacant	
Business (3)	Diya Kulkarni	Absent
	Suvi Chhabra	Present
	Sam Easby	Present
Science (6)	Alexis St. Pierre	Absent
	Saad Khan	Present
	Raven Miller	Absent
	Madena Sherzad	Present
	Naheed Howlader	Absent
	Parihan Parihan	Present
Engineering and Design (7)	Kassidy Hammond	Present
	Muhammad Maahir	Present
	Charlie MacDonald	Absent
	Akeel Samji	Present
	Stephnie Ughara	Present
	Alex Barnett-Sheldon	Absent
	Kevin Leo	Absent
Special Student (1)	Vacant	
BOG	Mira Gillis	Absent
	Jonathan Ojangole	Absent
GSA	Milan Sanghani	Absent
RRRA	Gialina Jiang	Absent
CASG	Dakota Livingston	Absent

^{*}Nonvoting members in *Italics*.



SHORT-FORM AGENDA:

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval of the Agenda (C-113)
- 3. Approval of Past Minutes
 - a. February Special Meeting (C-114)
- 4. Vice Presidential Debates and Question-and-Answer
 - a. Vice President Internal
 - b. Vice President Student Issues
 - c. Vice President Student Life
 - d. Vice President Community Engagement
 - e. Vice President Finance/Secretary-Treasurer
- 5. Regular Business
 - a. New Business
 - i. Vice Presidential Elections (C-115a through e)
 - ii. Board of Directors Elections (C-116)
 - iii. Speaker of Council Nominating Committee Elections (C-117)
- 6. Adjournment (C-118)

LONG-FORM AGENDA:

Meeting commenced at 12:35pm. The Deputy Speaker takes the Chair.

1. Call to Order

Before we address the regular business of this meeting, I'd like to acknowledge that we are today gathered on the traditional territory of the Algonquin Anishinaabe, lands never ceded or surrendered in peace to the Crown of Canada. Indigenous peoples living under the modern colonial state of Canada have suffered disproportionate injustice and marginalization. A mere land acknowledgement is not enough to make reconciliation and reparation to the Indigenous peoples of Turtle Island. We must stand in solidarity against colonialism and remember our responsibility to the land and the peoples who have kept it for generations—which means affirming their call for the free and unencumbered return to their ancestral land. It is also fitting, for this body of lawmakers, to remember the spirit and



wisdom of Indigenous governance models—from the collaborative bicameralism of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy to the consensus-based government of the Inuit—to deliver to students a better student union.

2. Approval of the Agenda (C-113)

Be it resolved, that the agenda be approved as presented to Council, notwithstanding s. 18 of the *Council Rules of Order*.

Moved:

N. Mhlanga

Seconded: R. Gill

MOTION CARRIED

3. Approval of Past Minutes (C-114)

a. AGM, Part I

Be it resolved, that the minutes from the Annual General Meeting of the Association, Part I be approved.

Moved:

N. Mhlanga

Seconded: R. Gill

MOTION CARRIED

4. Debate and Question/Answers from Vice Presidential Candidates

- a. Vice President Internal Candidates' Debate
 - Alvin Akinniwa
 - ii. Logan Breen
- b. Vice President Student Issues Candidates' Debate
 - Elbaraa Abdelsadek
 - Tayssir Benchoubane ii.
 - iii. Raiden Dean



- iv. Veronica Dhindsa
- v. Ruth Nobossi
- vi. Emilia De Jesus Peixoto
- c. Vice President Student Life Candidates' Debate
 - i. Burte Ariunbold
 - ii. Eman Elnaidany
 - iii. Rana Saadi
- d. Vice President Community Engagement Candidates' Debate
 - i. Alexa Barett
 - ii. Patrick Ene

[C-115a to d ELECTION TO TAKE PLACE CONCURRENTLY WITH BELOW]

- e. Vice President Finance Nominee Question and Answer Period
 - i. Tara Yusuf

5. Regular Business

Motion to Elect Vice Presidents of the Association (C-115a to e)

Whereas, per the *Vice Presidential Elections Policy* X-04, balloting for the Vice Presidential positions shall take place during the Annual General Meeting;

And whereas, per the *Vice President Finance Hiring Policy* H-77, the confirmation or rejection of the nominee for Vice President Finance, as recommended by the nominating committee, shall take place during the Annual General Meeting; therefore

Be it resolved, that Council elect the following individuals as Vice Presidents of the Association, by way of filling blanks through secret ballot:

- A. for Vice President Internal, Logan Breen;
- B. for Vice President Student Issues, Emilia De Jesus Peixoto,
- C. for Vice President Student Life, Eman Elnaidany;
- D. for Vice President Community Engagement, Patrick Ene; and



E. for Vice President Finance/Secretary–Treasurer, Vacant.

Moved: A. Stoikos- Lettieri Seconded: J. Vecchio

MOTION CARRIED

Motion to Amend the Motion to Elect Directors of the Board (C-116) to strike out the words "secret ballots" and replace it with "majority vote of council"

Moved: A. Stoikos- Lettieri Seconded: R. Gill

MOTION CARRIED

Motion to Elect Directors of the Board (C-116)

Whereas, the Association's Board of Directors shall be elected or appointed at this Annual General Meeting;

And whereas, the Board Nominating Committee has tendered its final recommendations for Council; therefore

Be it resolved, that Council appoint the following individuals as Directors of the Board, by the way of majority vote of council:

- Allan Buri (Class II)
- Emma Davis (Class I)
- Megan Johnson (Class II)
- Same Pilatwe (Class II)



• Fadi Syoufi (Class II)

Moved: A. Stoikos- Lettieri Seconded: R. Gill

MOTION CARRIED

Motion to Amend the Motion to Elect Councillors for the Speaker of Council Nominating Committee (C-117) to strike out the words "secret ballots" and replace it with "majority vote of council"

Moved: A. Stoikos- Lettieri Seconded: R. Gill

MOTION CARRIED

Motion to Elect Councillors for the Speaker of Council Nominating Committee (C-117)

Whereas, Council may elect to have a nominating committee aid them in the selection of a Speaker of Council; therefore

Be it resolved, that the following three Councillors are elected to serve on the Speaker of Council Nominating Committee, by way of filling blanks through secret ballot:

- Jayln D'Jan;
- Zeba Munira; and
- Keana Cavero

Moved: A. Stoikos- Lettieri Seconded: R. Gill



MOTION CARRIED

Motion to destroy the ballots used in the Vice President Elections (C-118)

Moved: A. Stoikos- Lettieri Seconded: J. Vecchio

MOTION CARRIED

6. Adjournment

Motion to Adjourn (C-118)

Be it resolved, that Council adjourns for this legislative session.

Moved:

N. Mhlanga

Seconded: E. Okrainec

MOTION CARRIED

Meeting adjourned at 7:15 pm.